Name:   Lisa Paglia 
Age:  52
Which SADS condition do you have? LQT2
When were you diagnosed? 2 years After SCA in 1985 
How are you treated? ICD

How/when were you diagnosed? 
I had SCA at 17.  Treated incorrectly for years, then appropriately got ICD.
I learned my dad, sister, and I all had LQT2 by genetic testing in 1992.

What has been the biggest challenge you’ve faced in living with your diagnosis?
Years ago, knowledge and awareness was not nearly as prevalent as today. Being a 20 years old with an ICD who couldn’t drive for few years was difficult. 

What is one positive thing that has come out of your diagnosis?  
I became surrounded by EPs and NPs that never gave up on me and my family. Finding solutions for better quality life. They brought me hope, and strangely a 20 year career working for Boston Scientific in the field and finding love.

What encouragement or advice would you give someone who has just been diagnosed with your condition?
Find a health care team you trust and never gives up searching for answers and be patient. There is new information every year. You truly are not alone.

What does your day-to-day life look like? 
I have had a 20 year career working in the field as a medical device clinical rep.  I am present when devices are implanted.  I give back to patients and the industry that has given me and my family our lives.

What are your favorite hobbies and activities?  
Beach. Reading. Gym

Want to be featured in the SADS Spotlight? Share your story by answering a few short questions. If you have a longer story to tell, or if you’d like to write about a specific topic, check out our guidelines for writers