Stephanie and her husband on a recent night out at the theater

Name: Stephanie Swor Festian

Age: 45

Which SADS condition do you have? Long Q-T Type 1

How are you treated? (Beta blocker, ICD, etc.) Beta blocked from 1992-2015, now beta plus ICD

When were you diagnosed? 1992, Age 18 after a cardiac arrest

How/when were you diagnosed? I had a cardiac arrest at 18 after being home for most of a week sick from my senior year of high school. I went to school that day to assist with an assembly I was in charge of. I passed out at school and then was taken to the ER to get checked out and had a SCA there. Was in a coma for 3 days before a doctor looked at LQTS.

What has been the biggest challenge you’ve faced in living with your diagnosis? Learning that being active is ok. In 1992, I was told no activity and now I can. I run half marathons now.

What is one positive thing that has come out of your diagnosis? I now think less of what I can’t do but more of what I can.

What encouragement or advice would you give someone who has just been diagnosed with your condition? It is scary, I won’t lie, but you can do life, even a normal life.

What does your day-to-day life look like? Often the same as anyone who doesn’t have LQTS. People get shocked when I tell them about my heart and the fact that my parents were told I was not likely to survive.

What are your favorite hobbies and activities? Running and spending time with my family.

Want to be featured in the SADS Spotlight? Share your story by answering a few short questions. If you have a longer story to tell, or if you’d like to write about a specific topic, check out our guidelines for writers